rst

rst (‘rise set time’) is an observing planning tool that calculates rise and set times for an object at either Winer or Van Allen Observatory. It defaults to today’s date. If no object is given, it simply reports sunrise and sunset times (local, UT, LST) for the next observing date. It retrieves coordinates of non-solar system objects using Simbad. For solar system objects, it uses the Python ephem library to calculate posiiton.  RST can be run from the command line on deimos, or the web app on the Gemini observing web page.


Version: 26 March 2016

Known bugs: none


Example 1: Report astronomical (elevation -12 deg) sunset and sunrise for the upcoming night.

DEIMOS:~> rst

Enter 1 = Winer Observatoy , 2 = Van Allen Observatory: 1

Gemini Telescope, Winer Obs.  Date: 2016/5/6 JD: 2457515.1

Astronomical dusk: 20:03:03 (MST),  03:03:03 (UT),  10:38:17 (LST)

Astronomical dawn: 04:34:28 (MST),  11:34:28 (UT),  19:11:05 (LST) 


Example 2: Report observabiliy of the galaxy NGC891 for the upcoming night.

DEIMOS:~> rst ngc4565

Enter 1 = Winer Observatoy , 2 = Van Allen Observatory: 2

Van Allen Observatory, Iowa City

Object = ngc4565, Date: 2016/5/6 JD: 2457515.1

RA(J2000): 12:36:20.80, Dec(J2000): 25:59:14.6

Astronomical dusk: 21:13:07 (CDT),  02:13:07 (UT),  11:09:51 (LST)

Astronomical dawn: 04:41:05 (CDT),  09:41:05 (UT),  18:39:03 (LST)

  CDT             UT        LST        Elevation         RA               Dec

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

21:50:44   02:50:44  11:51:31      71.5    12:37:09.94   25:53:54.7

22:50:44   03:50:44  12:51:41      73.8    12:37:09.94   25:53:54.7

23:50:44   04:50:44  13:51:51      67.9    12:37:09.94   25:53:54.7

00:50:44   05:50:44  14:52:00      58.1    12:37:09.94   25:53:54.8

01:50:44   06:50:44  15:52:10      47.2    12:37:09.94   25:53:54.8

02:50:44   07:50:44  16:52:20      36.0    12:37:09.94   25:53:54.8

03:50:44   08:50:44  17:52:30      24.9    12:37:09.94   25:53:54.8

ngc4565 is observable for about 7 hours on 2016/5/6

Source also known as:

1RXS J123618.0+255902


Example 3: Report observabiliy of the asteroid  5 Asterea at Winer Observatory on June 10, 2016.

DEIMOS:~> rst '5 Astraea' 2016 6 10

Enter 1 = Winer Observatoy , 2 = Van Allen Observatory: 1

Gemini Telescope, Winer Obs.

Object = 5 Astraea, Date: 2016/6/10 JD: 2457549.5

RA(J2000): 10:47:22.09, Dec(J2000): 11:50:05.1

Astronomical dusk: 20:29:14 (MST),  03:29:14 (UT),  13:22:31 (LST)

Astronomical dawn: 04:14:27 (MST),  11:14:27 (UT),  21:09:01 (LST)

  MST        UT        LST      Elevation      RA         Dec

--------------------------------------------------------------

21:20:42   04:20:42  14:18:04      38.1    10:49:08.30   11:39:36.5

22:20:42   05:20:42  15:18:14      25.4    10:49:12.03   11:39:14.0

23:20:42   06:20:42  16:18:24      12.7    10:49:15.79   11:38:51.6

5 Astraea is observable for about 3 hours on 2016/6/10

Warning: Transit occurs during daytime (17:52:07 MST), use LSTSTART option when scheduling


© Robert Mutel 2018